Turner Prize unveils 2016 short list

The short list for the most prestigious prize in contemporary art, the Turner Prize, has been announced for 2016.

The artists are: Michael Dean, Anthea Hamilton, Helen Marten and Josephine Pryde.

The Turner Prize returns to Tate Britain with an exhibition of work by the four shortlisted artists opening on 27 September.

Last year the prize was held in Glasgow and was won by Assemble.

The winner will be announced in December at an awards ceremony live on the BBC, the new broadcast partner for the prize.

Michael Dean has been short listed for solo exhibitions Sic Glyphs at South London Gallery and Qualities of Violence at de Appel arts centre, Amsterdam.

Anthea Hamilton has been short listed for her exhibition Anthea Hamilton: Lichen! Libido! Chastity! at SculptureCentre, New York while Helen Marten is in the running for projects including Lunar Nibs at the 56th Venice Biennale and the solo exhibition Eucalyptus Let Us In at Green Naftali, New York.

Josephine Pryde has been short listed for her solo exhibition Lapses in Thinking By the person i Am at CCA Wattis, San Francisco.

The Turner Prize award is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists.

The prize, established in 1984, is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding 28 April 2016.

The members of the Turner Prize 2016 jury are Michelle Cotton, Director, Bonner Kunstverein, Bonn; Tamsin Dillon, Curator; Beatrix Ruf, Director, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam; and Simon Wallis, Director, The Hepworth Wakefield.

The jury is chaired by Alex Farquharson, Director of Tate Britain.

Scotlightdaily.com is the online edition of Scotland's favourite newspapers, that brings you your Daily news. Every day we bring you the best in Scottish news, sport, entertainment and opinion, including breaking news, picture galleries, videos and live blogs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *